Close Menu
Call Now! 888 DUI Lawyer You Cannot Afford to Plead Guilty
24/7 Emergency Line 866-580-1960

Call Us Today ~ Hablamos Español

Free Consultation!
Call 888-DUI-LAWYER

New York DWI & DUI Penalties

Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) is only a misdemeanor, and Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI) is nothing more than a traffic violation, so why not just plead guilty, pay the fine and put the whole matter behind you? The reason why is because DUI penalties can be much more than a simple fine, and these penalties increase enormously if you have a previous DUI conviction. See below to learn more about penalties for DWI and DWAI in New York and why you should fight any DUI arrest, and call 888-DUI-LAWYER in Long Island for a strong voice on your behalf in any New York DUI proceeding.

New York DUI Defined by Long Island Drunk Driving Lawyers

The offense of DWI can be charged when a chemical test of your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) shows .08% or more, regardless of how competently you were driving (assuming the police had sufficient grounds to stop you and test your BAC). If your BAC was between .05% and .07% but you showed signs of impairment, you can be charged with DWAI. There is also a charge of Aggravated DWI in cases where an individual’s BAC was .18% or more. Additionally, a driver under 21 years old having .02 to .07% BAC can be charged under New York’s Zero Tolerance law.

Penalties for DWI in Long Island

First Offense

Second Offense (felony)

  • Fine between $1,000 and $5,000
  • Up to four years in prison
  • Mandatory revocation of driver’s license for at least one year

Third Offense (felony)

  • Fine between $2,000 and $10,000
  • Up to 7 years in prison
  • Mandatory revocation of driver’s license for at least one year

Penalties for DWAI in Long Island

First Offense

  • Fine between $300 to $500
  • Up to 15 days in jail
  • Mandatory 90-day driver’s license suspension

Second Offense

  • Fine between $500 to $750
  • Up to 30 days
  • Mandatory revocation of driver’s license for at least six months

Third Offense

  • Fine between $750 and $1,500
  • Up to 180 days in jail
  • Mandatory revocation of driver’s license for at least six months

Aggravated DWI Penalties in Long Island

First Offense

  • Fine from $1,000 $2,000
  • Up to one year in jail
  • Mandatory revocation of driver’s license for at least one year

Second Offense (felony)

  • Fine from $1,000 to $5,000
  • Up to four years in prison
  • Mandatory revocation of driver’s license for at least 18 months

Third Offense (felony)

  • Fine from $2,000 to $10,000
  • Up to seven years in prison
  • Mandatory revocation of driver’s license for at least 18 months

Penalties under New York’s Zero Tolerance Law

First Offense

  • $125 fine
  • Six-month driver’s license suspension

Second Offense

  • $125 fine
  • Driver’s license revoked for one year or until driver turns 21

You Cannot Afford to Plead Guilty!

Even a first DUI offense is very expensive in terms of fines and fees and comes with additional costs in terms of the loss of a driver’s license and even potential jail time. Worse still, that first offense will stay on your record, and any subsequent offense in the next ten years will put you at risk for far greater penalties. Don’t take chances with your future. You cannot afford to plead guilty to even a first offense DWI or DWAI. If you have been arrested for DUI in Long Island, call 888-DUI-LAWYER for a free consultation with knowledgeable and experienced Long Island DUI defense lawyers who can provide smart, strong and effective defense of the charges against you.

Share This Page:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google Plus

© 2017 888 DUI Lawyer, Richard S. Jaffe, ESQ., Partner, Law Office of Cohen & Jaffe, LLP. All rights reserved.
Custom WebShop™ law firm website design by NextClient.com.

+

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.